Archive for category: Opinion

Archive pour catégorie : Opinion

RSS feed for Opinion

  1     2     3  

A few weeks ago, I attended the “Grand Opening” event of a new Buddhist Temple recently constructed in my north Edmonton neighbourhood. It was a beautiful event, marked by ritual and ceremony, hospitality and fellowship. It also involved a fair bit of informal interfaith dialogue with the monks of the temple and between fellow visitors of various traditions, who, like me, appreciated the opportunity to see inside the temple and to learn what this new community was all about.

This is now the third new non-Christian prayer space and second Buddhist temple to open in my neighbourhood in recent years, the other being a new mosque, adding to the array of Christian churches and other prayer spaces already present there. It also reflects the diversity of the population that now lives in “our part” of the city: a population that values spiritual realities and draws life from religious traditions “ever ancient, ever new,” to steal St. Augustine’s formulation.
… Read more » … lire la suite »

Posted: May 16, 2024 • Permanent link: ecumenism.net/?p=14312
Categories: One Body, OpinionIn this article: evangelism/evangelization, interfaith, multifaith, pluralism, proselytism, witness
Transmis : 16 mai 2024 • Lien permanente : ecumenism.net/?p=14312
Catégorie : One Body, OpinionDans cet article : evangelism/evangelization, interfaith, multifaith, pluralism, proselytism, witness

With our recent celebration of the Easter Vigil in mind, it’s a good time to reflect on the ecumenical significance of baptism and offer a brief review of some of the dialogues that have taken place on this topic. From a Catholic perspective, the ecumenical significance of baptism is clearly affirmed in Vatican II’s Decree on Ecumenism, which states that: “all who have been justified by faith in baptism are incorporated into Christ; they therefore have a right to be called Christians, and with good reason are accepted as brothers [and sisters] by the children of the Catholic Church” (#3).
… Read more » … lire la suite »

Posted: Apr. 12, 2024 • Permanent link: ecumenism.net/?p=14282
Categories: One Body, OpinionIn this article: baptism, Canadian Council of Churches, dialogue, Trinity, United Church of Canada, WCC Commission on Faith and Order
Transmis : 12 avril 2024 • Lien permanente : ecumenism.net/?p=14282
Catégorie : One Body, OpinionDans cet article : baptism, Canadian Council of Churches, dialogue, Trinity, United Church of Canada, WCC Commission on Faith and Order

On January 25, at the annual ecumenical service in Rome that marks the end of the Week of Prayer for Christian Unity, Pope Francis spontaneously invited Archbishop of Canterbury Justin Welby to offer remarks after Francis’ own homily. Archbishop Justin’s reflection constituted a second homily, though it was called a “discourse” in the Vatican media. Such an invitation had only been offered to Orthodox bishops in the past, so this marked a significant sign of welcome between two leaders who have become close collaborators in a number of projects. On previous occasions, Archbishop Justin and his predecessors had been invited to offer remarks at a later portion of the liturgy, but never immediately after the homily.
… Read more » … lire la suite »

Posted: Mar. 14, 2024 • Permanent link: ecumenism.net/?p=14086
Categories: One Body, OpinionIn this article: ARCIC, dialogue, IARCCUM, ministry, ordination, women
Transmis : 14 mars 2024 • Lien permanente : ecumenism.net/?p=14086
Catégorie : One Body, OpinionDans cet article : ARCIC, dialogue, IARCCUM, ministry, ordination, women

Some friends of mine recently undertook a little renovation project in their home: nothing major – just a couple of bathrooms, a laundry room and a fresh coat of paint on some walls.

The plan looked simple enough on paper, but the reality of the renos soon became a bit more complicated – and costly – than initially anticipated. Removing old walls disclosed some surprises, newer building codes required adjustments to plumbing and electrical works, old appliances didn’t quite fit into new spaces, and a few unforeseen wall repairs were needed before the simple step of applying new paint.

I think about this in the context of the upcoming Lenten season, and the renovation project that Lent invites into all of our lives: individually and communally, and particularly as churches journeying together on the path of Christian unity.
… Read more » … lire la suite »

Posted: Feb. 2, 2024 • Permanent link: ecumenism.net/?p=14043
Categories: One Body, OpinionIn this article: ecumenism, Lent, spiritual ecumenism
Transmis : 2 févr. 2024 • Lien permanente : ecumenism.net/?p=14043
Catégorie : One Body, OpinionDans cet article : ecumenism, Lent, spiritual ecumenism

Praying together with other Christians and even with members of other faiths has become so common over the past half century, it’s easy to forget earlier practice.

Archbishop Gilles Ouellet, a former chair of the CCCB’s Ecumenism Commission, talked about his experience in the Eastern Townships of Quebec. His father was a town councillor, and in this capacity took the young Gilles with him to attend the funeral of a prominent Protestant citizen. As they were entering the church, he recalled his father saying that they were attending the funeral “because it’s the right thing to do.” However, Archbishop Gilles was to remember that he was not to pray in that church.
… Read more » … lire la suite »

Posted: Jan. 4, 2024 • Permanent link: ecumenism.net/?p=14040
Categories: One Body, OpinionIn this article: WPCU
Transmis : 4 janv. 2024 • Lien permanente : ecumenism.net/?p=14040
Catégorie : One Body, OpinionDans cet article : WPCU

Synods are ecclesial gatherings, intense moments of reflection on the Word of God symbolized by the presence of the Book of the Gospels enthroned in the midst of the assembly. The month-long General Assembly of the 16th Synod, which met in Rome from October 4 to 29, was an experience of prayerful listening. It began with an Ecumenical Prayer Vigil organized by the Taizé community on September 30, where young people from many countries led a series of meditations and intercessions for the world. Their words and gestures recalled the purpose of the synodal process: to help us become a church more responsive to the call to mission and service of the poor and those who suffer.
… Read more » … lire la suite »

Posted: Dec. 7, 2023 • Permanent link: ecumenism.net/?p=14003
Categories: One Body, OpinionIn this article: Catholic, synodality
Transmis : 7 déc. 2023 • Lien permanente : ecumenism.net/?p=14003
Catégorie : One Body, OpinionDans cet article : Catholic, synodality

The great damage inflicted among Indigenous Peoples by the colonizing projects in North America/Turtle Island, including the far too frequent complicity of the churches with them, is something that can hardly be overstated. Most Canadian Christians are, I hope, relatively aware of the large-scale physical, cultural, and spiritual harms that were perpetrated by things like the reserve system, residential schools, and bans on traditional ceremonies and rites. Less widely considered, however, are the impacts that also came from the importing of inter-Christian hostilities from Europe to the Peoples of this land. Although less urgent than the direct and tangible abuses, here too there are harmful marks that must be reckoned with.
… Read more » … lire la suite »

Posted: Nov. 2, 2023 • Permanent link: ecumenism.net/?p=13996
Categories: One Body, OpinionIn this article: Canadian Council of Churches, ecumenism, Faith & Witness, Indigenous church
Transmis : 2 nov. 2023 • Lien permanente : ecumenism.net/?p=13996
Catégorie : One Body, OpinionDans cet article : Canadian Council of Churches, ecumenism, Faith & Witness, Indigenous church

“There is no synodality without ecumenism and no ecumenism without synodality.” These words were spoken at the “Together: Gathering of the People of God” ecumenical service on Saturday, September 30, in St. Peter’s Square in Rome. When I heard these words from the podium, I took notice. Ecumenism and synodality are both reform movements in the church. The integral connection between the two seemed self-evident to me, but it’s a good reminder.
… Read more » … lire la suite »

Posted: Oct. 5, 2023 • Permanent link: ecumenism.net/?p=13930
Categories: One Body, OpinionIn this article: synodality
Transmis : 5 oct. 2023 • Lien permanente : ecumenism.net/?p=13930
Catégorie : One Body, OpinionDans cet article : synodality

The recently concluded World Youth Day in Portugal (August 1-6, 2023) included a number of ecumenical and interreligious experiences, opportunities, and lessons that garnered praise and criticism in Catholic and non-Catholic circles alike.

  • In addition to visiting and participating in events held within Catholic venues, WYD pilgrims were invited to visit significant Protestant and Orthodox churches and other houses of worship (synagogues, mosques, temples) in Lisbon and throughout the country, to “observe” how each religious denomination has its own history, content, ritual, and societal outreach.
  • With fellow Christians, WYD pilgrims were invited also to participate in prayers, lectures, and bible studies offered by Anglican, Protestant, Orthodox Church leaders, and ecumenical communities (such as Taizé and Chemin Neuf), and to “look for signs of unity” (of faith, sacrament, and mission) between these Christian communities.
  • On the interfaith side, organizers highlighted that “leaders of other faiths will be present at various events of the WYD Lisbon 2023 presided over by the Pope,” and indeed Pope Francis met with a number of ecumenical and interreligious leaders at significant events held throughout the week.
  • Groups from various religious backgrounds participated in a Youth Festival program that featured “music and singing as a universal language that facilitates encounters between religions, cultures and peoples.”

… Read more » … lire la suite »

Posted: Sept. 14, 2023 • Permanent link: ecumenism.net/?p=13970
Categories: One Body, OpinionIn this article: ecumenism, next gen, youth
Transmis : 14 sept. 2023 • Lien permanente : ecumenism.net/?p=13970
Catégorie : One Body, OpinionDans cet article : ecumenism, next gen, youth

In 2024, The Canadian Council of Churches (CCC) celebrates the 80th anniversary of its founding. Anniversaries are an opportunity to review the past and look to the future, to celebrate what has been accomplished and to learn from past experience, with a view to developing a clearer self-understanding in the present and identifying a vision for the future.
… Read more » … lire la suite »

Posted: Aug. 24, 2023 • Permanent link: ecumenism.net/?p=13974
Categories: One Body, OpinionIn this article: Canadian Council of Churches
Transmis : 24 aoüt 2023 • Lien permanente : ecumenism.net/?p=13974
Catégorie : One Body, OpinionDans cet article : Canadian Council of Churches

On Sunday, August 6, we in the Anglican Church of Canada will pause to acknowledge the 30th anniversary of the Apology offered by Archbishop and Primate Michael Geoffrey Peers. This moment is more pronounced, in light of his death on July 27.

I humbly ask that the moments we take on Sunday and throughout the week should also reflect a thanksgiving for the ministry of Archbishop Peers. He prayerfully stepped into that historic moment and stood before the people, apologizing for a wrong done and for trauma committed by our church. The willingness of the church to participate in the residential school experience has resulted in a legacy of trauma that’s been handed down and is lived daily by Indigenous survivors and their families.
… Read more » … lire la suite »

Posted: Aug. 2, 2023 • Permanent link: ecumenism.net/?p=13920
Categories: News, OpinionIn this article: Anglican Church of Canada, apologies, Chris Harper, Indigenous peoples, Reconciliation
Transmis : 2 aoüt 2023 • Lien permanente : ecumenism.net/?p=13920
Catégorie : News, OpinionDans cet article : Anglican Church of Canada, apologies, Chris Harper, Indigenous peoples, Reconciliation

“Though they differ from one another in essence and not only in degree, the common priesthood of the faithful and the ministerial or hierarchical priesthood are nonetheless interrelated: each of them in its own special way is a participation in the one priesthood of Christ” (Lumen Gentium, #10).

The reports issued during the diocesan and continental phases of the Synod on Synodality 2021-2024 offer a consistent call for a renewed understanding of the universal or baptismal priesthood. These reports frequently refer to the Vatican II quotation above, reminding us that 60 years ago, the church began to chart a new path in which the laity are not passive observers of the clergy’s active ministry. At times over the intervening years, lay ministry has been deemed a collaboration in what was typically understood as clerical ministry. The very word “ministry” has been frequently denied to lay people, who were instead meant to have an apostolate in the world. Pope Francis’ call to end clericalism has not meant an end to ordained ministry. He has cautioned against moves to clericalize lay ministry, pointing instead to the baptismal dignity of all. The Synod participants have noted the scriptural foundations for a baptismal priesthood.
… Read more » … lire la suite »

Posted: July 5, 2023 • Permanent link: ecumenism.net/?p=13734
Categories: One Body, OpinionIn this article: baptism, synodality, universal priesthood
Transmis : 5 juil. 2023 • Lien permanente : ecumenism.net/?p=13734
Catégorie : One Body, OpinionDans cet article : baptism, synodality, universal priesthood

The Sacred Circle is a gathering of Indigenous Anglicans in Canada. This year, it took place between May 29th and June 2nd, and its journey of understanding and reconciliation has much to teach the Church’s understanding of God, spirituality, and the relationships between Indigenous and non-Indigenous communities. The gathering took place around a fire.
… Read more » … lire la suite »

Posted: July 4, 2023 • Permanent link: ecumenism.net/?p=13925
Categories: News, OpinionIn this article: Anglican Church of Canada, Anglican Communion, Indigenous church, Sacred Circle
Transmis : 4 juil. 2023 • Lien permanente : ecumenism.net/?p=13925
Catégorie : News, OpinionDans cet article : Anglican Church of Canada, Anglican Communion, Indigenous church, Sacred Circle

At the root of Christian agreements and disagreements about Mary are matters that are at the same time biblical, doctrinal, historical, liturgical, theological, sociological, soteriological, ecclesiological, and so on. What does the Bible say or not say about Mary, and how is this to be interpreted? How much of what is professed about Mary belongs to the Tradition of the Church rather than directly found in Scripture? How much is from historical, cultural, or sentimental expressions developed within specific churches? Does Marian doctrine or devotion enhance or take away anything from the central focus on Christ? What is the relationship between God’s grace present and active in Mary’s life, and her own (and our own) human actions or belief? What is meant by the veneration of Mary (or of the saints) as distinct from worshipping God? When and by whose authority did Marian titles, feasts, and dogmas come to be assigned within the Christian Church? Are all such titles, feasts, and dogmas essential, obligatory, and/or intended to be marked with equal solemnity? How is Mary’s life and faith presented as a model for female Christian discipleship, or as exemplary for Christian life in general?
… Read more » … lire la suite »

Posted: May 30, 2023 • Permanent link: ecumenism.net/?p=13708
Categories: One Body, OpinionIn this article: Anglican, dialogue, Evangelicals, Groupe des Dombes, Mary, Methodist
Transmis : 30 mai 2023 • Lien permanente : ecumenism.net/?p=13708
Catégorie : One Body, OpinionDans cet article : Anglican, dialogue, Evangelicals, Groupe des Dombes, Mary, Methodist

Pope Francis’ decision in late April to include lay persons as full participants with voting rights in the upcoming Synod of Bishops is a significant step towards making the synod a body that more adequately represents and embodies an act of discernment by the whole entire people of God.

In exhorting the pastors of the local churches to embark upon a synodal process with the whole community of the baptized and listen to the voices of the marginalized, the pope has been seeking to reawaken the muscle memory of the ecclesial body.
… Read more » … lire la suite »

Posted: May 10, 2023 • Permanent link: ecumenism.net/?p=13681
Categories: NCR, OpinionIn this article: Catholic, laity, Pope Francis, synodality
Transmis : 10 mai 2023 • Lien permanente : ecumenism.net/?p=13681
Catégorie : NCR, OpinionDans cet article : Catholic, laity, Pope Francis, synodality

Have you ever greeted a neighbour with a “Happy Easter,” only to learn that they are still in the season of Lent and won’t be celebrating the Feast for another couple of weeks? In areas where Christians of different denominations live closely together, especially Eastern and Western churches, the search for a common date to celebrate Christ’s resurrection has become an urgent concern. As St. Paul makes clear (1 Corinthians 15:12-14), belief in the resurrection is a fundamental aspect of the apostolic faith. By celebrating this event on different days, Christians compromise their credibility and effectiveness in bringing the Gospel to an increasingly secular world.
… Read more » … lire la suite »

Posted: Apr. 27, 2023 • Permanent link: ecumenism.net/?p=13572
Categories: One Body, OpinionIn this article: Date of Easter, dialogue, WCC
Transmis : 27 avril 2023 • Lien permanente : ecumenism.net/?p=13572
Catégorie : One Body, OpinionDans cet article : Date of Easter, dialogue, WCC

After the Vatican’s recent repudiation of the Doctrine of Discovery, I spent two hours speaking with three Indigenous people about the 500-year-old church doctrine that is as much the bedrock of Canada as the Canadian Shield.

I asked about its relevance, the potential of its undoing, and a question I had never asked before. Those discussions left me feeling both low-level dread and an almost irresistible sense of the possibility of grace. First, what is the Doctrine of Discovery?

“The story of the Doctrine is the story of how you can obtain other people’s land by magic,” retired judge Harry LaForme told the Globe and Mail in 2022. “You just sprinkle these papal bulls and you get it.”
… Read more » … lire la suite »

Posted: Apr. 20, 2023 • Permanent link: ecumenism.net/?p=13570
Categories: News, OpinionIn this article: Doctrine of Discovery, Indigenous peoples, Mennonite, Reconciliation
Transmis : 20 avril 2023 • Lien permanente : ecumenism.net/?p=13570
Catégorie : News, OpinionDans cet article : Doctrine of Discovery, Indigenous peoples, Mennonite, Reconciliation

I was recently asked how we know if a dialogue is successful. Even in the church, there is a temptation to assess projects and ministries by worldly standards. How much did it cost? How many people attended? How many people watched the video? These practical concerns should be considered, but other questions might be more critical. Did the experience transform people? Did this deepen or strengthen relationships between people or between the churches? What were the fruits of this project? What is the Spirit saying to the churches?
… Read more » … lire la suite »

Posted: Mar. 31, 2023 • Permanent link: ecumenism.net/?p=13641
Categories: One Body, OpinionIn this article: Canada, CCCB, dialogue
Transmis : 31 mars 2023 • Lien permanente : ecumenism.net/?p=13641
Catégorie : One Body, OpinionDans cet article : Canada, CCCB, dialogue

In September 2022, I traveled to Oberammergau, Germany, to attend the village’s world-famous, once-a-decade Passion play. I’m working on a book about how local communities reinterpret the Stations of the Cross to claim divine solidarity in the face of injustice, a project that has led me to Passion rituals of many kinds. Last Good Friday, students invited me to join an ecumenical Atlanta congregation composed predominantly of people living on the street as they carried a cross down a gentrified stretch of busy Ponce de Leon Avenue to lament the racialized displacement wrought by recent urban redevelopment. The next day, a community in Atlanta’s Peoplestown neighborhood memorialized Jesus’ Crucifixion beside the burned-out Wendy’s parking lot where police officers killed Rayshard Brooks in 2020. I’ve become captivated by the question of what it is about the Stations of the Cross—this quintessentially traditional, medieval devotion and its fourteen-station template—that makes it such a rich site of theological agency for communities on the margins.
… Read more » … lire la suite »

Posted: Mar. 1, 2023 • Permanent link: ecumenism.net/?p=13448
Categories: OpinionIn this article: anti-semitism, Christian, Good Friday, Judaism, Oberammergau, Passion Play
Transmis : 1 mars 2023 • Lien permanente : ecumenism.net/?p=13448
Catégorie : OpinionDans cet article : anti-semitism, Christian, Good Friday, Judaism, Oberammergau, Passion Play

This year marks the 25th anniversary of We Remember: A Reflection on the Shoah, issued on 16 March 1998 by the Holy See’s Commission for Religious Relations with the Jews.
… Read more » … lire la suite »

Posted: Feb. 28, 2023 • Permanent link: ecumenism.net/?p=13639
Categories: One Body, OpinionIn this article: anti-semitism, Catholic, Judaism, Shoah
Transmis : 28 févr. 2023 • Lien permanente : ecumenism.net/?p=13639
Catégorie : One Body, OpinionDans cet article : anti-semitism, Catholic, Judaism, Shoah

Our Lord Jesus prays in His High Priestly prayer in John 17: “Holy Father, keep them in Your name, which You have given Me, that they may be one, even as We are one” (v. 17). Our Lord Jesus is praying for His disciples. He is praying for His Church. He is praying for you and me today.

Our Lord’s prayer can be understood in this way: that His Church would remain one—not that we would somehow achieve this oneness by our actions. Our Lord is praying that the oneness that we already have in Him would be preserved. That we would remain one. The Lutheran Reformers expressed this in the Augsburg Confession in saying that after coming to agreement on what we teach and confess we would live “in unity and concord in the one Christian Church” (AC Preface 4).
… Read more » … lire la suite »

Posted: Feb. 27, 2023 • Permanent link: ecumenism.net/?p=13452
Categories: OpinionIn this article: dialogue, ecumenism, Lutheran Church–Canada
Transmis : 27 févr. 2023 • Lien permanente : ecumenism.net/?p=13452
Catégorie : OpinionDans cet article : dialogue, ecumenism, Lutheran Church–Canada

The conversation about medical assistance in dying (MAID) in Canada began out of a desire to ease the transition to death for terminally ill people experiencing intractable pain and suffering. After discussion and debate, Canada in 2016 legally permitted access to MAID for adults facing imminent death due to terminal illness, if they were deemed to be suffering intolerably.

In this debate some Anglicans have held an uncomfortable position, recognizing both the sanctity of life as a gift from God to be treasured and protected and the possibility that profound suffering and pain might be considered valid reasons to end one’s life. The church’s 1998 report and study guide Care in Dying stated that support for physician-assisted death constituted a “failure of human community.”
… Read more » … lire la suite »

Posted: Feb. 1, 2023 • Permanent link: ecumenism.net/?p=13455
Categories: Anglican Journal, OpinionIn this article: Anglican Church of Canada, Linda Nicholls, physician assisted suicide
Transmis : 1 févr. 2023 • Lien permanente : ecumenism.net/?p=13455
Catégorie : Anglican Journal, OpinionDans cet article : Anglican Church of Canada, Linda Nicholls, physician assisted suicide

One day after his election to the papacy on April 19, 2005, Pope Benedict XVI addressed the College of Cardinals. He affirmed his commitment to the ecumenical agenda of his predecessor, Pope John Paul II, and identified his primary task as the impelling duty “to work tirelessly to rebuild the full and visible unity of all Christ’s followers.” He stated his readiness “to do everything in his power to promote the fundamental cause of ecumenism,” as well as his determination “to encourage every initiative that seems appropriate for promoting contacts and understanding with the representatives of the different Churches and Ecclesial Communities.” At the time of his death on December 31, 2022, tributes from ecumenical partners around the world testified to his fidelity to these commitments made at beginning of his papacy.
… Read more » … lire la suite »

Posted: Jan. 31, 2023 • Permanent link: ecumenism.net/?p=13637
Categories: One Body, OpinionIn this article: Benedict XVI, Catholic, dialogue, Joseph Ratzinger, justification by faith, Lutheran
Transmis : 31 janv. 2023 • Lien permanente : ecumenism.net/?p=13637
Catégorie : One Body, OpinionDans cet article : Benedict XVI, Catholic, dialogue, Joseph Ratzinger, justification by faith, Lutheran

As the Minnesota Council of Churches began work on the 2023 theme materials for the Week of Prayer for Christian Unity, they reflected on the murder of George Floyd and the history of racism directed at people of colour in the United States. They also recalled the day in 1862 when 38 members of the Dakota tribe were hanged in Mankato, Minnesota, following the U.S.-Dakota War. As they were led to their deaths, the warriors sang the hymn Wakantanka taku nitawa (Many and Great).

The prophet Isaiah lived in Judah in the 8th century BCE, a time of prosperity in the two kingdoms, Israel and Judah. Yet, like other societies with wealth and power, great inequities existed. The rich and the powerful made offerings in the temple, and gained influence in the spiritual and ritual life of the kingdom. But the poor, who could not afford to offer sacrifices, were excluded from civil and religious life. The injustices of the time were not the result of specific choices of the religious or civil leaders but were the outcome of the structure of the society itself. In response, Isaiah called out for God’s justice. He denounced political, social, and religious structures that created and sustained inequity and oppression. He called upon the people to “learn to do good; seek justice, rescue the oppressed, defend the orphan, plead for the widow.” (Isaiah 1:17)
… Read more » … lire la suite »

Posted: Dec. 27, 2022 • Permanent link: ecumenism.net/?p=13635
Categories: One Body, OpinionIn this article: anti-racism, racism, WPCU
Transmis : 27 déc. 2022 • Lien permanente : ecumenism.net/?p=13635
Catégorie : One Body, OpinionDans cet article : anti-racism, racism, WPCU

I can recall the day exactly in March 2020 when all of the busyness of my life – all my appointments, activities, events and plans – were simply wiped from my calendar: my coworkers and I were told to go home and to stay there until further notice, and everyone was asked to quarantine or at least to limit interpersonal contacts, until more information could be obtained as to the real threat that a new strain of coronavirus represented to our individual lives and indeed for all humankind.

It was a scary time as I recall, as little by little we learned details about this new plague that had set upon the world: hospitals were being overrun, death tolls were rising and there was no known cure for the virus. Places of communal gathering – churches among them – were asked to restrict access and if possible, to shutter their doors completely, which, of course, many did, to the rejoicing of some and the chagrin of others.
… Read more » … lire la suite »

Posted: Nov. 29, 2022 • Permanent link: ecumenism.net/?p=13633
Categories: One Body, OpinionIn this article: COVID, eucharist, pandemic
Transmis : 29 nov. 2022 • Lien permanente : ecumenism.net/?p=13633
Catégorie : One Body, OpinionDans cet article : COVID, eucharist, pandemic

Every religion has its demonology. When Malcolm X made this observation to Alex Haley as they collaborated on what was to become his posthumous autobiography, his immediate target was the antisemitic teaching promoted by Elijah Muhammed, from whose sect he had recently broken. His refusal to exempt any faith from the tendency to demonize others in order to validate itself remains as painfully relevant today as it was in 1965.
… Read more » … lire la suite »

Posted: Nov. 19, 2022 • Permanent link: ecumenism.net/?p=12825
Categories: NCR, OpinionIn this article: anti-semitism, Jewish-Christian relations
Transmis : 19 nov. 2022 • Lien permanente : ecumenism.net/?p=12825
Catégorie : NCR, OpinionDans cet article : anti-semitism, Jewish-Christian relations

On two occasions this past year, Pope Francis has expressed his deep sorrow for the pain and trauma suffered by former students of residential schools and their descendants. At the end of March, he met with delegations of First Nations, Métis and Inuit Peoples in Rome where he stated: “Listening to your voices, I was able to enter into and be deeply grieved by the stories of the suffering, hardship, discrimination and various forms of abuse that some of you experienced, particularly in the residential schools. … I ask for God’s forgiveness and I want to say to you with all my heart: I am very sorry. And I join my brothers, the Canadian bishops, in asking your pardon.”

Following this initial meeting, he travelled to Canada in July where he re-iterated his heartfelt apology for Catholic involvement in residential schools and again joined with the Canadian Bishops in asking pardon. He stated: “Today I am here, in this land that, along with its ancient memories, preserves the scars of still open wounds. I am here because the first step of my penitential pilgrimage among you is that of again asking forgiveness, of telling you once more that I am deeply sorry…. I ask forgiveness, in particular, for the ways in which many members of the Church and of religious communities cooperated, not least through their indifference, in projects of cultural destruction and forced assimilation promoted by the governments of that time, which culminated in the system of residential schools.”
… Read more » … lire la suite »

Posted: Oct. 27, 2022 • Permanent link: ecumenism.net/?p=13631
Categories: One Body, OpinionIn this article: apologies, Indigenous peoples, Pope Francis, Residential Schools
Transmis : 27 oct. 2022 • Lien permanente : ecumenism.net/?p=13631
Catégorie : One Body, OpinionDans cet article : apologies, Indigenous peoples, Pope Francis, Residential Schools

I’m nervous about presenting non-orthodox views about COVID. Some of my mandate-abiding friends will look askance.

“Yes, but … ,” they will say, then demarcate limits of tolerance.

Rigidity was a spiritual variant of COVID. Questions became unwelcome. A singularity of narrative prevailed, spawning a minority reaction.

Friendships withered. Families ruptured. Churches bled members.

The pandemic changed the complexion of society. At this point, can we talk constructively across the lingering divide? Can we find middle ground? Do we even want to? And what of the humble Beatitudes?
… Read more » … lire la suite »

Posted: Oct. 26, 2022 • Permanent link: ecumenism.net/?p=12721
Categories: News, OpinionIn this article: COVID, Mennonite, pandemic, vaccines
Transmis : 26 oct. 2022 • Lien permanente : ecumenism.net/?p=12721
Catégorie : News, OpinionDans cet article : COVID, Mennonite, pandemic, vaccines

“If there is no resurrection of the dead, neither is Christ risen! But if Christ is not risen, then our preaching is empty, your faith also empty “(1 Cor 15:13 ff). With these words, the apostle Paul affirms with absolute clarity that the Christian faith stands or falls with the paschal mystery. The early Church condensed this fundamental conviction in the formula: “Take away the resurrection and you will immediately destroy Christianity.” Given the central importance of the paschal mystery in the Christian faith, it is understandable that Christians wish to celebrate it on a common date.
… Read more » … lire la suite »

Posted: Oct. 24, 2022 • Permanent link: ecumenism.net/?p=12648
Categories: News, OpinionIn this article: Date of Easter, Dicastery for Promoting Christian Unity, Kurt Koch, Nicaea
Transmis : 24 oct. 2022 • Lien permanente : ecumenism.net/?p=12648
Catégorie : News, OpinionDans cet article : Date of Easter, Dicastery for Promoting Christian Unity, Kurt Koch, Nicaea

Caleb Brown was a lead organizer of the Freedom Convoy protest outside the Manitoba legislative building last winter. I asked how he responds to people who dismiss all protesters as white nationalists. I asked how he felt about people who drove by and gave him the finger, as one of my friends did.
… Read more » … lire la suite »

Posted: Oct. 12, 2022 • Permanent link: ecumenism.net/?p=12604
Categories: News, OpinionIn this article: COVID, Mennonite, pandemic, vaccines
Transmis : 12 oct. 2022 • Lien permanente : ecumenism.net/?p=12604
Catégorie : News, OpinionDans cet article : COVID, Mennonite, pandemic, vaccines

“The WCC puts unity before justice!” This was the complaint of one Canadian participant in the World Council of Churches’ 11th Assembly in Karlsruhe, Germany. The 65 Canadian participants gathered recently to debrief their experience of the August 31st to September 8th gathering of churches from around the world. The theme of the Assembly was “Christ’s love moves the world to reconciliation and unity.”

Back in May, Sr. Donna Geernaert wrote about the Assembly theme in her blog post “An Ecumenism of the Heart.” Over 3,750 church delegates, observers, advisors, visitors, and media came from around the world to Karlsruhe. WCC assemblies are only held every 7 or 8 years, so it was an excellent opportunity for me to attend along with my wife, Rev. Amanda Currie, one of the delegates from the Presbyterian Church in Canada.
… Read more » … lire la suite »

Posted: Oct. 5, 2022 • Permanent link: ecumenism.net/?p=13629
Categories: One Body, OpinionIn this article: Christian unity, social justice, WCC Assembly
Transmis : 5 oct. 2022 • Lien permanente : ecumenism.net/?p=13629
Catégorie : One Body, OpinionDans cet article : Christian unity, social justice, WCC Assembly

I knew I would eventually have to interview my neighbours who staunchly resisted COVID-19 mandates and proudly supported the Ottawa trucker convoy. Actually I have many such neighbours. But it took a year of working through my pandemic enmity until I was ready to listen to them.
… Read more » … lire la suite »

Posted: Sept. 28, 2022 • Permanent link: ecumenism.net/?p=12602
Categories: News, OpinionIn this article: COVID, Mennonite, pandemic, vaccines
Transmis : 28 sept. 2022 • Lien permanente : ecumenism.net/?p=12602
Catégorie : News, OpinionDans cet article : COVID, Mennonite, pandemic, vaccines

Archbishop Justin today addressed the 11th Assembly of the World Council of Churches. The WCC Assembly is the highest governing body of the World Council of Churches, and normally meets every eight years. This year’s conference took place between 31st August – 8th September 2022. It is the only time when the entire fellowship of member churches come together in one place for prayer and celebration. The theme of the 11th Assembly of the World Council of Churches is “Christ’s love moves the world to reconciliation and unity”.
… Read more » … lire la suite »

Posted: Sept. 7, 2022 • Permanent link: ecumenism.net/?p=12462
Categories: News, OpinionIn this article: Christian unity, Justin Welby, WCC, WCC Assembly
Transmis : 7 sept. 2022 • Lien permanente : ecumenism.net/?p=12462
Catégorie : News, OpinionDans cet article : Christian unity, Justin Welby, WCC, WCC Assembly

For the first time in more than 50 years, the Assembly of the World Council of Churches is convening in Europe again. It is therefore both an honour and a delight for me as Federal President to extend a warm welcome, also on behalf of our country, to all of you who have travelled from all corners of the globe to come to Germany.

This is the first time that the World Council of Churches is meeting in Germany. We are most grateful that you have accepted the invitation to come here and hope that we will be good hosts. This event is intended to be a celebration of faith, of interaction, of exchange. It is rare for us to host guests who are so different but who are nonetheless connected by a deep sense of unity. A very warm welcome to you all!
… Read more » … lire la suite »

Posted: Aug. 31, 2022 • Permanent link: ecumenism.net/?p=12512
Categories: Conferences, News, OpinionIn this article: Germany, WCC, WCC Assembly
Transmis : 31 aoüt 2022 • Lien permanente : ecumenism.net/?p=12512
Catégorie : Conferences, News, OpinionDans cet article : Germany, WCC, WCC Assembly

Heat waves, rivers drying up, wild fires, floods, disappearing glaciers… Recent events in our own context and around the world leave no doubt that the daily life of our communities, our global partners, and the mission and ministries of our churches will increasingly be impacted by climate-related disasters, the trauma of those directly affected, and the fear and despair experienced by so many in the face of our destruction of creation.
… Read more » … lire la suite »

Posted: Aug. 30, 2022 • Permanent link: ecumenism.net/?p=13627
Categories: One Body, OpinionIn this article: climate change, environment, Laudato Si'
Transmis : 30 aoüt 2022 • Lien permanente : ecumenism.net/?p=13627
Catégorie : One Body, OpinionDans cet article : climate change, environment, Laudato Si'

As participants in the First Assembly of the World Council of Churches (WCC) gathered at Amsterdam during August 1948, the Netherlands bore witness to the violence of the Second World War. The port of Rotterdam was rising from near destruction. Many other cities, towns and villages across Europe were struggling to recover. To the east, Germany and Austria were divided into zones of occupation administered by the Allied Powers. Two months earlier, tensions between the Soviet Union and the Western occupiers of the former German capital led to the start of the Berlin Airlift. Since 1945, publications had been increasing their use of the term “Cold War”.
… Read more » … lire la suite »

Posted: Aug. 26, 2022 • Permanent link: ecumenism.net/?p=12506
Categories: Conferences, OpinionIn this article: WCC, WCC Assembly
Transmis : 26 aoüt 2022 • Lien permanente : ecumenism.net/?p=12506
Catégorie : Conferences, OpinionDans cet article : WCC, WCC Assembly

In the days between March 28 and April 1 of this year, a delegation of representatives of the Indigenous peoples of Canada traveled to Rome with some of their bishops for several meetings with Pope Francis. He promised to travel personally to Canada later this summer to continue the dialogue in their “Indigenous territories.”

During the concluding meeting, the pope said, “it is my hope that our meetings during these days will point out new paths to be pursued together, will instill courage and strength, and lead to greater commitment on the local level. Any truly effective process of healing requires concrete actions. In a fraternal spirit, I encourage the Bishops and the Catholic community to continue taking steps toward the transparent search for truth and to foster healing and reconciliation. These steps are part of a journey that can favor the rediscovery and revitalization of your culture, while helping the Church to grow in love, respect and specific attention to your authentic traditions. I wish to tell you that the Church stands beside you and wants to continue journeying with you. Dialogue is the key to knowledge and sharing, and the Bishops of Canada have clearly stated their commitment to continue advancing together with you on a renewed, constructive, fruitful path, where encounters and shared projects will be of great help.”[1]

In these pages we will attempt to briefly outline the context of the journey of truth and reconciliation with the Indigenous peoples of Canada, in which the pope is intensely engaged, alongside the Canadian Church.
… Read more » … lire la suite »

Posted: July 19, 2022 • Permanent link: ecumenism.net/?p=12255
Categories: News, OpinionIn this article: apologies, Canada, Indigenous peoples, papal visit, Pope Francis, Reconciliation
Transmis : 19 juil. 2022 • Lien permanente : ecumenism.net/?p=12255
Catégorie : News, OpinionDans cet article : apologies, Canada, Indigenous peoples, papal visit, Pope Francis, Reconciliation

The church is called to be anti-racist. Recently, I heard this quote from Ijeoma Oluo, author of So You Want To Talk About Race:

The beauty of anti-racism is that you don’t have to pretend to be free of racism to be an anti-racist. Anti-racism is the commitment to fight racism wherever you find it, including in yourself. And it’s the only way forward.

I find this quote provocative because I struggle to live in actively anti-racist ways. I find it provocative because I continue to detect in myself a desire to avoid admitting the racism in me and in my faith communities. Based on several recent experiences, which were simultaneously painful, frustrating, and holy, I have no doubt about the truth of the words it’s the only way forward.
… Read more » … lire la suite »

Posted: July 19, 2022 • Permanent link: ecumenism.net/?p=13625
Categories: One Body, OpinionIn this article: anti-racism, racism
Transmis : 19 juil. 2022 • Lien permanente : ecumenism.net/?p=13625
Catégorie : One Body, OpinionDans cet article : anti-racism, racism

One of the most beautiful and striking images that has stayed with me from the funeral mass of Pope John Paul II in 2005, was an ensemble of very ornately vested bishops gathered around the Holy Father’s coffin after communion, lifting up prayers and incense amidst a chorus of Greek and Arabic chanting.

The appearance of these bishops seemed to catch certain news announcers (even Catholic ones) off-guard, who referred to them variously as Greek Orthodox, Eastern Orthodox, Oriental bishops, and so on. Many Orthodox bishops did attend the funeral, of course, but these were seated in a separate section among Lutheran, Anglican, Evangelical, and other churches not in full communion with Rome.
… Read more » … lire la suite »

Posted: June 28, 2022 • Permanent link: ecumenism.net/?p=13623
Categories: One Body, OpinionIn this article: Catholic, Eastern churches
Transmis : 28 juin 2022 • Lien permanente : ecumenism.net/?p=13623
Catégorie : One Body, OpinionDans cet article : Catholic, Eastern churches

At the invitation of the churches in Germany, Alsace–Lorraine, and Switzerland, the World Council of Churches (WCC) will hold its 11th General Assembly in Karlsruhe, Germany, from August 31 to September 8, 2022. Usually held every eight years, this assembly comes after a year’s delay because of the COVID pandemic which has taken many lives and highlighted the profound inequalities that exist in contemporary society. Bringing together more than 4000 participants from all over the world, a WCC Assembly is a special event in the lives of its 350 member churches, ecumenical partners, and other churches. With a membership including most of the world’s Orthodox churches, scores of Anglican, Baptist, Lutheran, Methodist, and Reformed churches as well as many charismatic, independent, united, and uniting churches, a WCC Assembly is the most diverse Christian gathering of its size in the world. It is a unique opportunity for the churches to deepen their commitment to visible unity and common witness.
… Read more » … lire la suite »

Posted: May 31, 2022 • Permanent link: ecumenism.net/?p=13621
Categories: One Body, OpinionIn this article: Karlsruhe, WCC Assembly
Transmis : 31 mai 2022 • Lien permanente : ecumenism.net/?p=13621
Catégorie : One Body, OpinionDans cet article : Karlsruhe, WCC Assembly

When I first encountered interchurch families in my early ecumenical work, I had no idea that I would eventually marry someone from another church and become an interchurch family. I am now married to the Rev. Amanda Currie, a Presbyterian minister. Yet, at the time, I had little experience with theological or pastoral questions of marriage and family and no clue about how these would be significant in ecumenical relations in Canada.

Various surveys of Canadian dioceses since the 1980s have confirmed that 60% or more of marriages in Catholic parishes are what we used to call “mixed marriages”. This catch-all term includes marriages of a Catholic with anyone who is not Catholic, including other Christians, people of various other religions, and people with nominal or no religion. Most couples come to marriage with differing religious experiences or commitment levels, so most churches have historically cautioned against “inter-marriage” on practical grounds and sometimes with rather peculiar preconceptions about the other.
… Read more » … lire la suite »

Posted: Apr. 28, 2022 • Permanent link: ecumenism.net/?p=13619
Categories: One Body, OpinionIn this article: interchurch families, marriage
Transmis : 28 avril 2022 • Lien permanente : ecumenism.net/?p=13619
Catégorie : One Body, OpinionDans cet article : interchurch families, marriage

In more than one of our One Body articles, my fellow bloggers and I have emphasized the importance of deep, prayerful, heartfelt listening as essential to ecumenical ministry and engagement.

Such listening orients us to the voices of sisters and brothers from other churches and ecclesial communities; it invites us to consider the real (not our perceived or imagined) situation of their lives and calls us to be attentive to the ways in which the Lord may be speaking and working through them, for our sake (and theirs), and for the sake of the world.
… Read more » … lire la suite »

Posted: Mar. 29, 2022 • Permanent link: ecumenism.net/?p=13617
Categories: One Body, OpinionIn this article: dialogue, listening, love, truth
Transmis : 29 mars 2022 • Lien permanente : ecumenism.net/?p=13617
Catégorie : One Body, OpinionDans cet article : dialogue, listening, love, truth

A recent blog by Nick Jesson identifies “six signs of an ecumenical springtime” as a cause for renewed hope in the search for Christian unity. Not mentioned by Nick but perhaps a seventh sign of an ecumenical springtime is a growing appreciation for Saint John Paul II’s reference to dialogue as an ecumenical gift exchange. Pope Francis offers clear encouragement: “If we really believe in the abundantly free working of Holy Spirit, we can learn so much from one another!” (Evangelii Gaudium 246). With this in mind, the Catholic Ecumenical Officers of Western Canada saw Pope Francis’ invitation to the whole church, Catholic and ecumenical, to reflect together on synodality as an invitation to host an ecumenical panel on the topic.
… Read more » … lire la suite »

Posted: Mar. 1, 2022 • Permanent link: ecumenism.net/?p=13615
Categories: One Body, OpinionIn this article: dialogue, synodality
Transmis : 1 mars 2022 • Lien permanente : ecumenism.net/?p=13615
Catégorie : One Body, OpinionDans cet article : dialogue, synodality

When Wiarton Willie or his furry cousins poke their heads out to see if spring has come, there is just one sign that counts. Does he see his shadow? Of course, it’s all just fun; there is no causal relationship between a cloudy sky on February 2nd and an early spring. It is a lot more complicated when it comes to the signs of an ecumenical springtime, but there is much more cause for hope.

Since the mid-1980s, it has become commonplace to forecast an ecumenical winter in contrast to the enthusiasm of the 1960s and 70s. After the early achievements of post-Vatican II ecumenism, with key agreements on the Eucharist, ministry, authority, and various other controverted questions, progress slowed as ecumenists took up questions of ecclesiology, authority, and ethics. Yet after every winter comes spring. This blog post will explore six signs of an ecumenical springtime.
… Read more » … lire la suite »

Posted: Feb. 2, 2022 • Permanent link: ecumenism.net/?p=13613
Categories: One Body, OpinionIn this article: ecumenism, hope
Transmis : 2 févr. 2022 • Lien permanente : ecumenism.net/?p=13613
Catégorie : One Body, OpinionDans cet article : ecumenism, hope

For Christians following the Byzantine lectionary, these words from the Gospel of Matthew are read on Christmas day. Indeed, for us Eastern Catholics who follow the Julian calendar, we heard those words just last week! While most of our neighbours have already finished their Christmas celebrations and moved past Epiphany, for some of us the party is just getting started. The accounting of the journey of the wise men provides lessons for us Christians: we see how Herod and the religious establishment wanted to harm the newborn King of Kings, while those who worshipped stars were among the first to recognize the coming of the Christ.

This year’s Week of Prayer for Christian Unity (January 18-25) has taken these same words from the Gospel of Matthew and incorporated them as its theme. It is a reminder for us in the West to look towards the ancestral Churches of the East in solidarity. Many of the faithful of these Churches today experience political, economic, and social turmoil in their everyday lives. Unity is needed more than ever.
… Read more » … lire la suite »

Posted: Jan. 11, 2022 • Permanent link: ecumenism.net/?p=13611
Categories: One Body, OpinionIn this article: Eastern churches, spiritual ecumenism, WPCU
Transmis : 11 janv. 2022 • Lien permanente : ecumenism.net/?p=13611
Catégorie : One Body, OpinionDans cet article : Eastern churches, spiritual ecumenism, WPCU

In his homily at the Mass to open the two-year synod on synodality, Pope Francis reflected on the meeting recorded in the Gospel of Mark between Jesus and a rich man who asks him, “What must I do to inherit eternal life?” (Mark 10.17-22) In this encounter, Pope Francis identifies Jesus as one who listens “with his heart and not just with his ears.”
… Read more » … lire la suite »

Posted: Nov. 30, 2021 • Permanent link: ecumenism.net/?p=13609
Categories: One Body, OpinionIn this article: Catholic, Pope Francis, synodality
Transmis : 30 nov. 2021 • Lien permanente : ecumenism.net/?p=13609
Catégorie : One Body, OpinionDans cet article : Catholic, Pope Francis, synodality

On November 16, 2021, the Canadian Anglican–Roman Catholic Dialogue (ARC–Canada) marks its 50th anniversary. In an increasingly divided world where relationships are more often defined by conflict than cooperation, this is indeed an occasion to celebrate! An ongoing dialogue where words are used not to dominate or control but to seek understanding is a critical counter-cultural witness in today’s world. In addition to celebration, a 50th anniversary is an invitation to reflect on the past and to consider what may be learned for the future.
… Read more » … lire la suite »

Posted: Oct. 26, 2021 • Permanent link: ecumenism.net/?p=13607
Categories: One Body, OpinionIn this article: Anglican, Canada, Catholic, dialogue
Transmis : 26 oct. 2021 • Lien permanente : ecumenism.net/?p=13607
Catégorie : One Body, OpinionDans cet article : Anglican, Canada, Catholic, dialogue

Synod comes from the Greek syn and odos (meaning “with” and “path”) and refers to a way of living or working together. My favourite biblical passage for synodality is that of the disciples on the road to Emmaus, where Cleopas and his companion are joined by the resurrected Jesus, who walks with them and explains the scriptures to them. The biblical passage ends with a meal in which they finally recognize him in the breaking of the bread. Synodality is about walking together in a shared search for Christ in scripture, prayer, and common life.
… Read more » … lire la suite »

Posted: Sept. 29, 2021 • Permanent link: ecumenism.net/?p=13605
Categories: One Body, OpinionIn this article: Catholic, synodality
Transmis : 29 sept. 2021 • Lien permanente : ecumenism.net/?p=13605
Catégorie : One Body, OpinionDans cet article : Catholic, synodality

As any long-standing married couple will tell you, living relationships are changing relationships. So after some 55 years of bilateral dialogue, it’s not surprising to see that the Anglican–Roman Catholic international dialogue (ARCIC) has adopted a new approach. Where the first two phases of the dialogue, ARCIC I and II, sought to identify points of agreement, ARCIC III has focused on mutual support and possibilities for learning from one another through use of a methodology called receptive ecumenism. Its first agreed statement, Walking Together on the Way: Learning to be the Church – Local, Regional, Universal (WTW), was published in 2017.
… Read more » … lire la suite »

Posted: Aug. 31, 2021 • Permanent link: ecumenism.net/?p=13603
Categories: One Body, OpinionIn this article: Anglican, Catholic, dialogue, receptive ecumenism
Transmis : 31 aoüt 2021 • Lien permanente : ecumenism.net/?p=13603
Catégorie : One Body, OpinionDans cet article : Anglican, Catholic, dialogue, receptive ecumenism

Like many Canadians, I really like to garden. There’s something about mucking around in the dirt, planting seeds and tending plants, that restores the soul after a long winter or even just at the end of a busy work week. And how rewarding it feels to see your own flowers in bloom or to harvest tasty vegetables from your own garden plot. It represents the fruits, literally, of a lot of hard work, from clearing and tilling soil, to watering and weeding, to pruning and fending off critters – all for the joy of tasting your own tomatoes or savouring the blissful fragrance of your own roses in bloom.
… Read more » … lire la suite »

Posted: June 29, 2021 • Permanent link: ecumenism.net/?p=13601
Categories: One Body, OpinionIn this article: ecumenical spring
Transmis : 29 juin 2021 • Lien permanente : ecumenism.net/?p=13601
Catégorie : One Body, OpinionDans cet article : ecumenical spring

  1     2     3