New leadership for Anglicans and Lutherans

 — June 22, 200722 juin 2007

In addition to holding their national gatherings across Winnipeg from each other, this week the Anglican and Lutheran churches are also holding elections for their national bishops. The Anglican Church of Canada‘s national bishop is called a primate. The current primate, Archbishop Andrew Hutchinson has announced his intention to retire at the end of this week’s General Synod. In April, the House of Bishops nominated four bishops to stand for election as primate. On Friday afternoon, on the fifth ballot, the General Synod elected Bishop Fred Hiltz, 53, of Nova Scotia and PEI as its 13th primate.

Meanwhile, elsewhere in Winnipeg, the Evangelical Lutheran Church in Canada at its National Convention has elected the Rev. Susan Johnson as its new national bishop. Johnson succeeds Bishop Raymond L. Shultz who has been national bishop since 2001. The bishop-elect has been Assistant to the Bishop of the Eastern Synod since 1994. She has also served as vice-president of the ELCIC from 2001 to 2005 and as an advisor to the Lutheran World Federation Council since 1998.

The ELCIC election process is somewhat different than the Anglican process. No nominations are required because every member of the clergy roster is a candidate. Those who receive a vote on the first ballot become the candidates on subsequent ballots. No candidate can remove their name from the ballot, but after each ballot those who receive the least votes are removed. The election can take as many as six ballots. On the final ballot, the new national bishop is elected by a simple majority.

The Anglican Journal report of the election of Bishop Hiltz as primate is now available online.
Further information about Bishop-elect Johnson can be found in the ELCIC news report.

Posted: June 22, 2007 • Permanent link:
Categories: NewsIn this article: Anglican, bishops, Canada, Lutheran
Transmis : 22 juin 2007 • Lien permanente :
Catégorie : NewsDans cet article : Anglican, bishops, Canada, Lutheran

  Previous post: Ancien article : Rev. Susan Johnson elected as National Bishop of the ELCIC
  Newer post: Article récent : Murray Chatlain named as coadjutor bishop of Mackenzie-Fort Smith