Older postsAnciens articles | Newer postsArticles récents  

 — May 29, 200929 mai 2009

The Governing Board of the Canadian Council of Churches met recently at Saint Paul University. The acceptance of the new Denominational Member of the Canadian Council of Churches – the Ukrainian Catholic Church of Canada – was moved by Archbishop Yurij of the Ukrainian Orthodox Church and seconded by Bishop Ron Fabbro of the Canadian Conference of Catholic Bishops. It was adopted unanimously in accordance with the CCC Constitution.

On the same day, Fr. John Jillions (OCA) of the Metropolitan Andrey Sheptytsky Institute of Eastern Christian Studies was elected as one of the three Vice-Presidents of the Council. Fr. John, a professor of the Faculty of Theology at Saint Paul University, had been promoted to associate professor with tenure just a few days before the CCC meeting.

The Canadian Council of Churches is the largest ecumenical body in Canada, now representing 21 churches of Anglican, Evangelical, Eastern and Oriental Orthodox, Protestant and Roman and Eastern Catholic traditions. It is one of the few ecumenical bodies in the world that includes such a range of Christian churches. The officers and staff of the Council are drawn from the whole diversity of traditions represented by the member churches.

Posted: May 29, 2009 • Permanent link: ecu.net/?p=7186
Categories: NewsIn this article: Canadian Council of Churches, Ukrainian Catholic
Transmis : 29 mai 2009 • Lien permanente : ecu.net/?p=7186
Catégorie : NewsDans cet article : Canadian Council of Churches, Ukrainian Catholic

  Older postsAnciens articles | Newer postsArticles récents